Ripon Sailing Club was formed by a group of enthusiasts from the Ripon area in 1957, sailing initially on the River Ure at Langthorpe, Nr Boroughbridge. Sadly the creation of the Boroughbridge bypass and the resulting loss of wind put an end to river sailing, although a picture at the club records those days for posterity. The club moved to Farnham Lake in 1972 – this lake is south of where we now sail and is now a nature reserve – sailing there for a few years before moving to the North Lake where we have been ever since. During our time on the lake we’ve seen it grow from 20 acres to the current 75 acres – it’s an abandoned gravel pit and some of our older members remember it as an active quarry!
The area of water is now 75-acres and is leased from a local property trust. The club owns the freehold of the land and built the present club house during the winter of 1985/86. It was officially opened in August 1986 by Dr Bill Jones, a former Commodore and long standing member.
The clubhouse has recently benefitted from a large sport England Grant which has been used to bring the facilities right up to date and to make them more easily accessible for all potential users.
We can now also provide fantastic facilities for the non sailing members of the family to be able to watch the action in comfort.
Having celebrated it’s 60th anniversary in 2017, the club celebrates it’s valued past and looks forward to a vibrant future.
Last updated 11:44 on 5 March 2020